Zoey’s Staff Picks for December

Here is what I picked for this month, including short reviews!

Love Actuallylove-actually
dir. Richard Curtis, feat. Bill Nigh, Colin Firth, Alan Rickman, and Emma Thompson

“Follows the lives of eight very different couples in dealing with their love lives in various loosely and interrelated tales all set during a frantic month before Christmas in London, England.”

Love Actually is one of the very few holiday movies that I can sit through, and actually enjoy. Don’t get me wrong, I try not to think of myself as a Scrooge or a Grinch, but some holiday movies are super cringe-worthy and cheesy to me. And you can only watch classics like A Christmas Story and The Santa Clause so many times before it gets old.

What I enjoy most about Love Actually is the intertwining stories. While each character and their story line are unique in their own respects, characters are related in a variety of ways, ranging from an affair, to a friendship, and to even siblings. My favorite story line? I’m going to have to go with the Prime Minister and Natalie, played by Hugh Grant and Martine McCutcheon, respectively. Their budding romance is quirky, yet sweet. Alan Rickman is memorable in his role as well, and Martin Freeman adds a perfect hint of comedic relief. I think another aspect which could explain Love Actually’s popularity, more than 13 years after its initial release, is that classic British humor. The wit and sarcasm isn’t everyone’s cup of tea, but if it’s yours, and you love Christmas, definitely give Love Actually a shot, if you haven’t already.

Love Actually is that perfect adult holiday movie bound to get anyone in a Christmas-y mood.

American Beauty/American Psychoamerican-beauty-american-psycho
by Fall Out Boy

I know it seems a bit odd to recommend a summer feeling album in December, but I recently came across the album while stuck in traffic. Needless to say, listening to it all the way through brought back memories, and my mind was certainly no longer focused on the traffic.

Fall Out Boy was a band you would most certainly find on my iPod when I was in high school. So when they made their return from their hiatus back in 2013 with Save Rock and Roll followed by their 2015 release, you could say I was beyond thrilled. If you want to feel a little nostalgic for Fall Out Boy or other “emo” or pop-punk bands, pick up American Beauty/American Psycho.

My favorite tracks are: “Twin Skeletons (Hotel in NYC)”, “Novocaine”, “Jet Pack Blues”, and “The Kids Aren’t Alright.”

Images and Summaries taken from catalog.ccls.org.

Leave a comment

Filed under DVDs, holiday, Movies, Music

Leave a Reply

