Jamie’s Staff Picks for November

Emotionalismemotionalism
by The Avett Brothers

In my opinion, this CD is The Avett Brothers’ best. Their newer albums venture a little too far into sentimental pop to be memorable (or, frankly, enjoyable, as much as it pains me to say it). This album displayed their unique combination of pop, bluegrass, rock, and punk in a way that they seemed to have moved away from as they’ve become more well-known. This album came out when I was in college and I saw them perform it live. The energy that these songs displayed on stage was totally incredible, and by far one of the most memorable concerts of my life. I don’t think there’s a single song on this CD that I don’t like, but if I had to choose favorites I would go with: “Paranoia in B-Flat Major,” “Will You Return?”, and “I Would Be Sad.”

Bone Tomahawk bonetomahawk1

“Four men from a settlement in the old west must ride to the edge of civilization to find some local townspeople who have been abducted. What they find is an evil beyond imagination and an enemy so brutal, they will never be the same again.”

My husband and I were looking for scary movies to watch on Halloween night and ended up with this horror-like western. It was excellent– great dialogue, great characters, funny, heartwarming, and also terrifying. But be warned! This movie is definitely not for the faint of heart. Some scenes are very violent and gruesome. The combination of a “bottle episode” type plot (in that the scenes largely consist of dialogue) with engaging characters and horrific violence reminded me a lot of something that Quentin Tarantino would direct (à la The Hateful Eight). Kurt Russell, the sheriff, is great, but Richard Jenkins really steals the show as his lovable, loyal deputy. Definitely worth checking out if you are having a scary movie night!

 

All summaries from http://catalog.ccls.org/.

Leave a comment

Filed under DVDs, Movies, Music

Leave a Reply

