Zoey’s Staff Picks for May

Here’s what I picked for this month, including short reviews:

Me Before Youme before you
by Jojo Moyes; performed by Susan Lyons, Anna Bentinck, Steven Crossley, Alex Tregear, Andrew Wincott, and Owen Lindsay

“Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life, and has never been farther afield than her tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex-Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will is acerbic, moody, and bossy. But Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected.”

I was a bit hesitant to read Me Before You a while back, as it was labeled as a “romance.” I hate to admit but the romance genre isn’t particularly my favorite (with the exception of the Outlander series, of course!). But after seeing the trailer for the movie, featuring Emilia Clarke and Sam Claflin, I was moved to finally pick up the novel. And needless to say, I regret putting it off for so long. I read Me Before You, I think, at a time when I most needed to read it. I quickly and effortlessly connected with Louisa, the main character, who is the sole provider of money within her family. While she is extremely relied on by her family, she’s at a point in her life where she realizes she’s almost stuck, unsure of what to do. That’s when Will Traynor comes in. While at first, tending to the brooding Will Traynor seemed dismal at best, the pair quickly form a bond. Louisa’s life is forever changed after meeting Will. Jojo Moyes will have you hooked immediately, with this extremely moving story of strength of the human spirit and a quest for happiness.

VesselVessel_by_Twenty_One_Pilots
by Twenty One Pilots

Vessel is the 3rd studio album of the Ohio based band, Twenty One Pilots. At first I wasn’t a huge admirer of Twenty One Pilots; in fact, I was getting a little tired of hearing the highly relatable, yet overplayed, song “Stressed Out” on all of the local radio stations. But their song “Addict with a Pen” was featured on a playlist I follow on Spotify. The emotionally moving lyrics brought me in and I decided to dive deeper into their discography, and into their less played songs. After that, I was instantly hooked. Their album Vessel and Twenty One Pilots are an easy tie for my favorites, but for this month’s staff picks, I decided to settle with Vessel.  What I think I enjoy most about Twenty One Pilots is how they embody so many different genres, it’s nearly impossible to pin them down. Tyler Joseph’s poetic writing is emotionally moving. My favorite tracks on this album include “Car Radio”, “Ode to Sleep” and “Migraine.” Fun fact: the two men pictured on the cover of Vessel are actually the grandfathers of the members of the band, Tyler Joseph and Joshua Dun.

 

Photos and summary taken from catalog.ccls.org.

Leave a comment

Filed under Audiobooks, Music

Leave a Reply

