Zoey’s Staff Picks for October

Here’s what I picked for this month, including short reviews:

Doctor Who: The Complete 8th Series doctor who series 8
ft. Peter Capaldi and Jenna Coleman

“Who is the new Doctor and will Clara’s friendship survive as they embark on a terrifying mission into the heart of an alien conspiracy? The Doctor has changed. It’s time you knew him.”

Doctor Who is, without a doubt, one of my favorite T.V. Series of all time. I was a bit hesitant to continue watching after Matt Smith left, and so I kind of left my admiration for The Doctor and his companions on the back burner. It wasn’t until recently, however, I decided to give the 12th Doctor a go. I actually wound up binge watching the entire 8th season in nearly a week. I instantly fell in love with the 12th Doctor (Peter Capaldi) and grew to appreciate his rocky but dependent relationship with the 11th Doctor’s final companion, Clara Oswald (Jenna Coleman). Peter Capaldi’s portrayal of the Doctor impressed and shocked me, it wasn’t something I was expecting. He brings new and exciting elements to the Doctor we had yet to see. There is, of course, the debate of “New Who” versus “Old Who.” But I feel as though Steven Moffat’s writing is strong in this season and every episode is ultimately tied together in the final episode of the season.

If you have yet to see any Doctor Who episodes, I highly recommend starting with the 1st season before jumping straight into the new season.

“The Civil Wars” civil wars
by The Civil Wars (Joy Williams and John Paul White)

This highly anticipated album is  a  beautiful ending to such a talented duo. Joy and John’s emotional performances will move anyone. They have such a unique way of building conversation and emotion in any song they write. I first fell in love with The Civil Wars when I listened to their debut album, Barton Hallow. At the time I wasn’t much into “folk” music or anything that resembled country in any way. But my friend made me listen to “Poison and Wine,” their number one hit off of the album, and I became obsessed. The duo sings and performs with such passion that it’s almost unbelievable Joy and John no longer perform together.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, TV

Leave a Reply

